32nd Annual Queensland Awards

32nd Annual Queensland Awards

32nd Annual Queensland Awards

The Queensland wine industry and wine lovers converged at The Queensland Cricketer’s Club on Wednesday 2nd September to celebrate the 32nd Annual Queensland Wine Awards.  Judging took place on Tuesday 1st September, so all were anticipating the results as presented by the Judging Panel, chaired by  Hamish Seabrook of Seabrook Wines / Kirrihill Clare Valley.

The evening commenced with guests tasting the wines that had been presented with delicious canapés of Panko crumbed prawns with basil infused aioli, Crispy polenta chip with sweet onion jam, and Smoked duck breast and spiced poached pear chutney. A spectacular view over the ‘Gabba oval set the mood.

The Supporter awards were presented first before an entrée of Sweet potato gnocchi with panfried chorizo in a reduce white wine cream sauce. Our congratulations and thank you to:

Craft Wine Store as the Most Supportive Retailer

David Curnow, ABC Radio as the Most Supportive Media Commentator

Regional Flavours, Brisbane Marketing as the Most Supportive Community Event

Andrew Corrigan MW presented the judges comments to the room, noting that the Alternative Varieties were a very strong field, and Verdelho and Shiraz were the standouts in the mainstream varieties. Six trophy wines were awarded, no champion sparkling or fortified were awarded.

Champion Mainstream Variety White Wine – Robert Channon Wines 2015 Verdelho

Champion Alternative Variety White Wine – Ballandean Estate 2015 Messing About Fiano

Champion Mainstream Variety Red Wine –  Clovely Estate 2012 Polyphemus Shiraz

Champion Alternative Variety Red Wine –  Golden Grove 2013 Malbec

Outstanding Wine of Provenance – Left Field Semillon 2010, 2013, and 2014, Clovely Estate

Champion Wine of Show – Golden Grove 2013 Malbec

After a filling main course of Roast Eye Fillet, the room was ready to settle back to congratulate the industry award winners. The Awards were presented by the Mayor for South Burnett, Wayne Kratzmann. This year Ballandean Estate Wines dominated by winning all categories.

Queensland Viticulturist of the Year – Angelo Puglisi – Ballandean Estate Wines

Queensland Winemaker of the Year – Dylan Rhymer, Ballandean Estate Wines

Queensland Cellar Door of the Year – Ballandean Estate Wines

Queensland Winery of the Year – Ballandean Estate Wines

Finally the Samuel Bassett Award was presented. This is the industry award recognising continual and consistent support for and within the Queensland Wine Industry. This year the award was presented to Mary Puglisi of Ballandean Estate Wines. Mary has been the public face of the Ballandean cellar door for many years as well as raising the next generation of passionate wine industry stalwarts.

The Judges were Hamish Seabrook (Seabrook Wines / Kirrihill Clare Valley), Andrew Locke (Warren Randall McLaran Vale), Chris Brace (The Brisbane Club), Jason Froman (La Reserve, Brisbane), Alan Hunter (Courier Mail, Brisbane), Cate Looney (Brown Brothers, Milawa). The Associate Judges were Michael Orchardson (Negociants Australia), Stefano Radichi (Clovely Estate), Jessica Ferguson (Sirromet), Tom Battle (Symphony Hill). The Chief Steward was Sandra Dean ably assisted by a team of volunteers. We thank Rob Learmonth for collating and publishing the results.

For all the pictures from the night, please head to our Facebook page – Queensland Wine, images are courtesy of Mel from Smak! Studio Photography.

We thank our sponsors for the evening – Winestate Magazine, The Queensland Cricketers’ Club, and Ede’s Salon. If you are interested in sponsoring a category at next years awards, please contact us via membership@qwia.org.au

QCC-Logo - Good Copy

Artwork - Ede's Salon Business Card August 2014 images-9

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *